The Peaceable Kingdom #2

This painting (6′ x 8′) has been a monkey on my back for 7+ years. I don’t mean that I worked on it continuously – it was started then left as life intruded and then it was still there but the immediate motivation was  gone so I have struggled to finish it – or get it to a point where I could stop working on it and move it out of the studio to make space for newer projects. It became something of a sampler of ways to apply paint: rough, smooth, thick, thin, brush, knife, glazing, naturalistic color, less naturalistic color, detail, suggestion, etc. The original idea of interest to me was to set up that comic gag dysjunction of space – the flower stem defining the border between two similar but incompatible spaces; a small thing but endlessly entertaining to me.

DSCN1289

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

